top of page

Unspoken Words From My Father's Grave



He Spoke to me that Night

As I sat there crying, asking God, why?

He said…


“I was just a poor boy

Nobody loved me

Like an orphan running the streets

Dirty and ugly

Is what they all told me

Left all alone, all by myself

No father and a mother who was depressed and broken

Until the day she took her last breath

Nobody taught me

Had to fend for myself

As oppression set in


Now I’m all grown up

Working my day job

Still all alone

Lonely and depressed

Never knowing who I was

Or what I would become


I had a daughter

So beautiful and talented

She could sing just like her dear old Dad

Music became "our" special bond

We sang and we sang until our hearts bled red

Crimson and rose so lovely

But then she grew up and alone again I became


Then I got remarried

After years of just dating

Just like the wind she was

Exciting and new

We had such passion

But it too blew out, the flame

Too dysfunctional, screaming match

Couldn't cope

Never stood a chance

Alone I was once more, and again


I sat on that mound of salt and looked at my life as I asked God these questions

Why am I like this?

Why is this my life?

There’s nothing left here for me now

Nobody loves me

I’m all alone just like I was when just a boy


So I left my body and my daughter thinking she was better off

I walked away not knowing there could be any other way

No one needed me here

Just to continue to dim their light

And I never found my way

But you can my darling

In my leaving I left you with this gift


You may not see it yet

But I know it’s with you

In your heart

I’ll walk with you once more into the sunset


My darling sweet daughter

You were my whole life

My one true source of delight

I am so proud of you

Look at all you’ve become

All you’ve accomplished

I see in you what I couldn’t ever see in myself

You will live a good life

Just as I hoped for you

You are a true source of love

Compassionate and genuine

Showing what’s possible

An example, a role model

To see through with eyes of love

Fear not the unknown

My love for you will never die

Look for me and I’ll be right by your side

Take my hand and we will dance again

Just like we did on your sweet wedding day

On the other side of you I was

With your other father

Just like you always dreamed

To have us both walk with you on that very special day

I wouldn’t have missed it for the world

You may not have seen me but I know you felt me there with you

In truth I’ve never left your side

Loving you but from the other side

Guiding you and showing you

Living a life alone was just a lie I told myself

As my delusions set in.”



Poem written by Alejandra Marie

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page